top of page
Search
  • nekonoir

Update: Oceans and Islands

It's been just over a month since week twenty-three posted and I'm in the process of wrapping up my work on St. Catherines Island. Clearly, I've been lagging on the blog front. In a strange instance of synchronicity, I find myself not only surrounded by an ocean, but working on a fellowship focused on oceans. I'm on week seven of my IEEE Earthzine Writing Fellowship (competitively awarded) and in the middle of interviews, rough drafts and reading assignments. It's almost like being back in school! Not only am I learning about oceans - and learning that we still have much to learn about them - but being mentored by professional writers who are teaching me how to add techniques and polish to my journalistic toolbox. So, while I've been absent from Seven on St. Cats for several weeks, I'm still immersed in the writing process.

All of that being said, I don't plan to sell my 'Seven on' readers short. I've got plenty of ideas on deck for new posts and certainly plan on making up the missing weeks. In the coming days, I'll be saying goodbye to the lemurs (sniffle) and the clear golden beaches, gathering my windowsill museum, and saying hello again to my cat and civilization. It's going to be a transition, but I'll be back here shortly to continue sharing and reflecting on my island adventure.


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page